Please Wait, Processing...

Please do not close or navigate away from this window while it is processing

Like most websites Modern Railways uses cookies. We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Modern Railways website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Find out more


News: Golden Whistle awards 2017

Published 30 January 2017, 14:29

Most punctual operators revealed

The Modern Railways Fourth Friday Club has again joined with the Institution of Railway Operators to celebrate operational excellence in the rail industry, presenting symbolic Golden and Silver Whistles to mark the achievement of railway operators who have performed well over the past year.
The awards were presented on 27 January at the London Marriott Grosvenor Square in front of a packed audience of professionals from across the industry. The guest of honour and keynote speaker at the event was industry veteran Michael Holden, formerly chairman of East Coast and managing director of South Eastern Trains, who gave a thought-provoking overview of the current state of the industry.
Full details will appear in the March issue of Modern Railways, but here are the awards headlines. Golden Whistle awards are for best performance, and Silver for most improved.

Operational Performance – Right Time Moving Annual Average (MAA) by sector

Gold – East Midlands Trains
Silver – Virgin Trains West Coast

London & South East
Gold – TfL Rail
Silver – London Midland

Gold – Arriva Trains Wales
Silver – London Midland

Freight Performance – Arrival to fifteen measure
Gold – Direct Rail Services
Silver – Colas Rail

Delay minutes on self (passenger or freight operator)
Gold – CrossCountry
Silver – GB Railfreight

Delay minutes by Network Rail Route
Gold – Scotland
Silver – London North Western

London Underground Line Performance (both Gold and Silver awards based on year-on-year improvement)
Gold – Jubilee Line
Silver – Metropolitan Line

Iarnród Éireann Performance

Right time by route
Gold – Heuston Commuter
Silver – Limerick

Route delay minutes
Gold – Limerick
Silver – Westport

Outstanding Individual Operator
Golden Whistle – Martin Ward (East Midlands Trains)
Highly commended – Michael O’Hagan (Freightliner)

Outstanding Operating Team
Golden Whistle – Eurostar and Network Rail (High Speed)
Highly commended – Revenue Protection Team, MTR Crossrail & Service Delivery Team, Transdev Dublin Light Rail Ltd

Special Award
Winner – Ricardo Clarke (South West Trains)

Filed Under: News

Punctuality drives satisfaction fall
Optram analysis and Forecasting White paper