Whistles reward outstanding operators

Excellence in railway operating was celebrated once again by the Modern Railways 4th Friday Club and the Institution of Railway Operators at the annual Golden Whistles awards.

The awards, now in their 11th year, recognise the work of the best performing passenger and freight operators and Network Rail Routes as well as those individuals and teams who have gone the extra mile.

The prizes were presented in a ceremony held on 24 January at the London Marriott Grosvenor Square in front of a packed audience of nearly 300 professionals from across the industry. The guest of honour and keynote speaker was Alex Hynes, Managing Director, Scotland’s Railway, while earlier in the day a morning conference on operating issues was opened by Network Rail Chief Executive Andrew Haines.

Full details of the awards will appear in the March issue of Modern Railways, but the winners are listed below. The awards for the best performing passenger operators used the measure of on-time performance which looks at arrivals at every station en-route, not just a train’s destination. Most of the awards are based on industry data, which is analysed by the Institution of Railway Operators. Golden Whistles awards are for best performance and Silver for most improved.

Operational Performance – Long distance
Gold – GWR
Silver – Greater Anglia

Operational Performance – London & South East
Gold – c2c
Silver – Greater Anglia

Operational Performance – Regional
Gold – Merseyrail
Silver – GWR

Operational Performance – Freight (based on the Arrivals to Fifteen (A2F) measure)
Gold – Direct Rail Services
Silver – GB Railfreight

Operational Performance – Passenger or freight operator delay minutes on self
Gold – Virgin Trains/Avanti West Coast
Silver – DB Cargo

Operational Performance – Network Rail Route (based on fewest delay minutes to operators)
Gold – Scotland
Silver – Western

London Underground Line Performance (both awards based on improvement in the Lost Customer Hours (LCH) measure)
Gold – District Line
Silver – Piccadilly Line

Iarnród Éireann Performance – Right Time by route
Gold – Phoenix Park Tunnel

Iarnród Éireann Performance – route delay minutes
Gold – DART

Outstanding Operations
These awards are decided by a panel of judges from the Institution of Railway Operators.
Individual: Gold – Thomas Milnes (Chiltern Railways); Silver – Samantha Rayment (West Midlands Trains)

Team: Gold – High Speed Partnership (Network Rail/HS1); Silver – Resilient Autumn (ScotRail/Network Rail Scotland); Highly Commended – Team Vauxhall (SWR)

Special Award
HST farewell tour – LNER

The special award is presented at the discretion of the judges to an operator or operating team who has gone above and beyond the call of duty and deserve special recognition for an outstanding act. This year’s award went to the team from LNER which organised the four-day HST farewell tour in December.

Lifetime achievement award
Chris Gibb

Back to News

Sign up to the newsletter

Instant Issue Alert

or Unsubscribe

Choose your subscription

Scroll Up